And All was Well

    

Sudden I grew aware I was new-born;
All pain had vanished in the absorbent swell
     Of some exalting peace that was my own;
     As the moon dwelt in heaven did calmness dwell
At home in me, essential. The earth’s moan
Lay all behind. Had I then lost my part
In human griefs, dear part with them that groan ?
“‘Tis weariness ! ” I said; but with a start
That set it trembling and yet brake it not,
     I found the peace was love. Oh, my rich heart!
For, every time I spied a glimmering spot
Of window pane, “There, in that silent room,”
Thought I, ” mayhap sleeps human heart whose lot
Is therefore dear to mine ! ” I cared for whom
I saw not, had not seen, and might not see!
After the love crept prone its shadow-gloom,
But instant a mightier love arose in me,
    As in an ocean a single wave will swell,
     And heaved the shadow to the centre: we
Had called it prayer, before on sleep I fell.
It sank, and left my sea in holy calm:
I gave each man to God, and all was well.
And in my heart stirred soft a sleeping psalm.

—George MacDonald

Leave a Reply

